26 by 26 Journal One

6 Apr

KEYS of running with happy toes!

I have till November…
Goal is to set to be in tip top shape for my First marathon! So it is important for me to plan ahead, and get a program well on its way. When you decide to run a race there are some key ideas to think about, and  I want to share with you some steps to the finish line. My goal is to finish and have a cupcake afterward.
I approached running slow and steady about three years ago, I wasn’t able to run a full lap around the track, so I warmed up slowly to running. I was extremely out of shape but the best way to achieve is consistency.

So, then I made a deal with myself no matter what was going on that day, I was going to do some kind of exercise. Which brings me to my next key ingredient, make that exact promise to yourself,  to go do something each day. Go find a area in your home, and have a talk with your inner soul. I am dead serious about this, there is nothing like standing in front of  a mirror, looking yourself straight in the eye, and saying, “get your act together, and your ass in gear!” It works, trust me.

In my personal experience running should not be a everyday routine, that is a sure fire way to injuries. Lifting weights, HIT, Stretching is important as well.

My routine
Distance Run: Try to go at a pace where you find comfortable, walk, jog, run. Mix things up this helps get your body and heart use to far distances.
Turbo Fire workout:  This workout is something every person needs in their life. This is a set weight loss plan and a super way to get H.I.T in High interval training. It never gets old  jumping around punching and dancing to music.
Or, find a fun way to move around, bike, swim, row, play a intense sport, dance, anything that involves you moving fast.
Lift weights: Doing a  simple routine to strengthen muscle groups. Often “runners” feel that lifting will bulk them, wrong way to think about this, in fact, it is essential to strengthen muscle groups in the arms, back and legs.
Run for time: My favorite go fast and have a timer. I set goals for yourself and try your best.
Yoga or stretch: Another favorite “set the tightness free” everyday! Focus on my hips, throughout evolution females are not made to be runners, so those suckers may get tight and sore.
CrossFit: A new favorite of mine, rope so heavy I can barely move, Huge truck tires, I enjoy flipping them, and a sled to pull and a jump rope. All basic movements, till your about to puke. I just want to get my legs strong enough to carry me across the finish line, this should help a little bit.

For the next few months, I want to give tips, exercises, recipes, and more allowing the transformation of willing readers, to be the runner that lives inside of them. And allow readers to read about my progress to achieve one of goals in life.

Along the way you can hear about my crazy jobs,life,running mishaps and my wonderful world wind that is Lynn =)

Enjoy with Happy toes!

One Response to “26 by 26 Journal One”

  1. georgettegilmore April 6, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Very motivating Carolyn!

Leave a Reply

